Architecture / Castles in Wales / Europe / Travel

Castles in Wales (Part I)

I am sifting through a list of Welsh castles. It has some 100 articles/items on it :-). Some of them are ruins, others little more than mounds of earth, but there are some which still have impressive keeps, gates and walls standing, or even most of the castle. These castles I mentioned are 11th, 12th, and 13th-century for the most part (a few are 13th-14th c. or where finished in the 14th, 15th, or 16th c.), but some of them are 19th-century Gothic Revival castles.

Ready? Here they come!

Caerphilly Castle, South Wales

Caerphilly Castle

via flickr, candyschwartz, CC BY 2.0

 

Cardiff Castle, South Glamorgan, South Wales

Cardiff Castle

Cardiff Castle, South Glamorgan, South Wales

Cardiff Castle, interior, Arab Room

via flickr, candyschwartz, CC BY 2.0

Castell Coch, Tongwynlais (South Glamorgan), South Wales

Castell Coch

via flickr, Ben Salter, CC BY 2.0

Carmarthen Castle, South Wales

Carmarthen Castle

via flickr, Alison Thompson, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Kidwelly Castle, Carmarthenshire, South Wales

Kidwelly Castle

via flickr, marcus_and_sue, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Laugharne Castle, Carmathenshire, South Wales

Laugharne Castle

via flickr, Chris_Parfitt, CC BY 2.0

Conwy Castle, North Wales

Conwy Castle

via flickr, Sinya Lee, CC BY-NC 2.0

6 thoughts on “Castles in Wales (Part I)

  1. All I want from life is to live in a castle. Is it so much to ask? 😉 Conwy is my favourite, I remember visiting it on my first ever holiday with friends. Amazing memories.

    • 🙂 Have you seen the movie I Capture the Castle with Bill Nighy? It’s about a family that does just that. They live in an old castle. 🙂 It’s not the usual movie though, as they are quite poor and fanciful. It’s a nice movie! I haven’t visited any castles in Wales but hopefully I’ll find a way to see many of them when I go there next.

Leave a Reply

